Home

It’s winter time, big time!  Since relocating earlier this winter I do not have a home garden in progress, a winter one or otherwise.

So other than potted herbs to integrate into meal planning, we are relying on local and super markets, our winter farmers market, and what we have preserved from last year’s garden.

Speaking of…what I do have are seeds! Pounds of organically grown sunflower seeds all from my 2013 garden – they aren’t all for the birds!

Sunflower seed pod from the 2013 lawn to garden

Sunflower seed pod from the 2013 lawn to garden

A quick web search landed me to the youtube tutorial video from Ronnie & Minh (see above), which has inspired me to get my own project inititated.

If you don’t have your own seeds, try to acquire some from a local grower when you can.

Sunflower seeds in Mason jar on day 3

Sunflower seeds in Mason jar on day 3

(ABOVE) What I made of my project is what I have on hand. In this case, I have a Mason jar and a swatch of mesh fabric. The fabric substitutes for the screen as seen in the video. Seeds are beginning to grow tails; one more day or so until planting takes place. I’m keeping these in the oven between rinses (see video) for my ‘dark place’.

(BELOW) Prepared sunflower seeds are spread across a bed of soil for container planting as seen in the video. The next task is to cover with more potting soil, water and wait. Repeat. I would like to add that this project is an ideal one for the kids. Growing sprouts is very straightforward and minimal if any experience in gardening is needed to achieve results.

Close-up of prepared sunflower seeds placed into a soil for sprouting purposes.

Close-up of prepared sunflower seeds placed into a soil for sprouting purposes.

A side view as the sprouts become micro greens aka "sunnies"!

A side view as the sprouts become micro greens aka “sunnies”!

Getting ready to harvest (a bit early as I'm leaving town).

Getting ready to harvest (a bit early as I’m leaving town).

I did not require any additional information beyond the above video to achieve this result. However, there are more than enough experts weighing in on the healthful benefits of Sunflower seed sprouts.

From superchargefoods.com:

SunFlowers are HI-POWER!
They contain 72 minerals and have about the same PROTEIN content as CHICKEN (about 20-25%)!
Although, the protein content of SunFlowers, unlike chicken, is LIVE in enzymatic form which means it is easily digestible and you get energy from digesting rather than the body needing to invest energy and enzymes into digesting the dead complex proteins of chicken.

SunFlower Micros also contain essential fatty acids, the GOOD fats the body needs. The fats in SunFlowers actually help the body digest fat and have been shown to lower LDL levels and cholesterol (bad fats!)

SunFlowers are also know to detoxify radiation from the body!

I ended up yielding about four cups. SInce I have a bounty of sunflower seeds from last year’s garden, I have already started a second batch and will continue supplementing my diet throughout the seasons.

Sunnies are considered to be a superfood promoting many healthful benefits.

Sunnies are considered to be a superfood promoting many healthful benefits.

The more foods we grow or obtain locally, the more control we can have over our food sources (and seeds) and their origins and processes for farming.

Some of the ways that I channel sustainability are to grow more and more of my own foods, to volunteer in local garden initiatives in exchange for produce shares, to purchase foods from farmer’s markets and local growers, & to shop in markets that feature those fresh and organic foods.

Impact you carbon foodprint while creating more environmental and personal well being!

Try this simple project at home to grow your own living foods and do not forget to include the young ones.

Please do suggest it as a classroom project to your favorite educator, or youth group leader.

Hint: When I can’t get local certified organic foods, I ask if any of the foods were chemically treated or GMO. More about GMOs here.

(Information regarding plastic classifications and reuses for containers can be found on this webpage. We are all aware of our options for container gardening continuing to be somewhat limited to plastics. I use them sparingly and prefer terra-cotta pots that are still produced in the USA.)

One thought on “Sprout sunflower seeds for edible greens

  1. Pingback: Eating home-grown foods and making healthful choices | Elizabeth Izzo

Leave a Reply

