Home
detail of Flowers In Wind by author/artist

detail of Flowers In Wind by author/artist

Balance is the objective and it is a process to achieve.

As an activist, I need to know when and how to stand up so as to advocate for creating anew or bringing justice to daylight. As an artist and contemplative, I need to know when to stand down and seek peace, renewal, rest or inspiration. As a human, I seek harmony in family and community. However, we all have our personal universes we reside within to some degree and many of us revel in exploring these inner landscapes in quiet solitude, often in Nature.

Fortunately, I have a passion for research and I understand I am in many ways, only as good as my tools. In times of need, I turn to my tools. My teachers, guides and mentors are also my tools and I go to them for building bridges to understanding. I strive for the balance of openness so that tools are revealed to me, and I work to create the inner space to receive them. I have many lessons to learn about living in balance and harmony, and I’m committed to integrating them. I’m blessed to have people that love me and that recognize my potential for loving more openly.

It has never just been about all of what we can acquire in the name of progress or to solely define success. That highly consumptive and competitive-based model is outmoded. Learning to identify and let go of what no longer ‘is’ or is useful and good for us is just as critical to gaining the tools and skills we want and need for ourselves and each other to live more lovingly and sustainably.

Someone I have recently come upon in my (re)search who I am understanding to represent a more loving and mindful approach to some of the lessons I seek to learn and live is Lee Harris. If you are seeking peace and challenged in these changing times, and understand the role of impermanence in life and want to be more calm within a storm, check out Lee’s April 2014 Energy Forecast: The Strength of April, found within… and be open to change – maybe in a new and comforting way.

“Something I’ve said repeatedly through the forecasts over the years is that we never know how long we’re going to be alive. And it’s true – we don’t know that we’re still going to be alive at the end of today. And yet what we can often get very fixed and focused on is the future of life rather than the present. I keep hearing many people over the last year or so getting activated and worried about things they are hearing or suspecting about the future.”

Lee Harris

Works of art by Elizabeth Izzo including FLOWERS IN WIND.

Leave a Reply

