Home

Update: I’m continuing this process everyday moving forwardly. I’m finding Portland a sort of one-day-at-a-time wonderland. There is a meet-up group for everyone and opportunities to network and evolve via the local resources are abundant. The challenge continues to be to get out of my own way and let this time in my life unfold- to keep grounded in the moment and remember to return there when I stray.

Here is the updated image of the mandala as of early November.

IZZO 13 sistersmandala 2014

Detail:
10540769_10152468952763317_9161828748007299116_n

Today I’m moving forwardly – channeling some visual creativity.

I’m outside of Portland transitioning to the west coast. I’ve been living on and doing some work on a family farm. It is in the beginning stages of what plans to be a sustainable farmstead.

I’m networking and feeling out the amazing resources in this awe inspiring region, and appreciating the gentle people that I’ve been fortunate to meet.

I’ve done some telephone and canvassing volunteer hours with The Oregon Right To Know campaign. It’s very exciting to be a part of a statewide GMO labeling mandate that will go to ballot this November. Vote YES on 92!

Exciting and challenging times for me as I’m only just getting started (after a month) with adventures and service to the planet in this part of the world!

I’m happy to say that I’ve also applied to Teach for America. Like those before me, I’m hoping to make an impact in the lives of our youth as an educator working on resolving and eliminating education inequity. Applications are still being accepted for the 2015 school year.

Teach For America is growing the movement of leaders who work to ensure that kids growing up in poverty get an excellent education.

Today, in my first rain of this season, I’m simply making the most of my makeshift studio- my room! Taking a step – one after another toward creating a series of new Mandalas.

(Pictured) Some supplies I’ve traveled with or acquired.

IMG_5304.JPG

(Pictured) Makeshift easel, the very start of a mixed media and paper Mandala.

IMG_5303.JPG

(Pictured) Updated: Detail of in progress Mandala

IMG_5377.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

