Home

 

 

Update March 2016: Check out this web page for images of the most recent rattles:

http://www.elizabethizzo.us/

 

I am a rattle maker. I started making them in the 1990’s. I am self-taught. Making rattles came naturally to me as I began to explore my creativity and channeled my spiritual nature into new mediums outside of 2-D artworks.

It’s been a few years back since I’ve created rattles from gourds and I am preparing for making more in 2015.

artist/author with gourd rattle circa 2008

Artist/author with Gourd Rattle circa 2008

Last week I was able to visit the PSU Farmers Market and obtain some local gourds.

Seasonal Gourds

Seasonal Gourds

The plan will be to dry them over the winter.

In the Spring,  they can be cleaned and prepared for decoration, and then crafted into rattles.

photo 1

Gourd Rattle with seasonal gourds from Farmers Market

Many of my Gourd Rattles are long gone and have found new homes over the years through markets in Chicago and the Midwest USA. Here are some archived images I happen to have available from Portland. Most of my archives of art & craft are in storage. I still plan to get to them as I settle in throughout 2015.

Three Gourd Rattles handmade by author

Three Gourd Rattles handmade by author

Please visit my gallery at REDBUBBLE and see this image plus order prints or cards.

Handcrafted Gourd Rattles made by  Elizabeth Izzo

Handcrafted Gourd Rattles made by Elizabeth Izzo

Leave a Reply

